غرفة الأخبار

البحث عن الأخبار: 

بحث
مرشحات عامة

يحتفل أول مطعم شرق أفريقي في ديترويت بالافتتاح الكبير في نيو سنتر ، ويتلقى 50,000 ألف دولار من موتور سيتي ماتش

أبريل 1، 2021

    • أجرة باوباب مفتوحة الآن لتناول الطعام وجلب الطعام
    • موتور سيتي ماتش (مليون متر مكعب) الجولة 12 حاصلة على منحة نقدية بقيمة 50,000،XNUMX دولار
    • مطعم وسوق وبار عصير من شرق إفريقيا من بين العديد من الشركات المملوكة للسود والنساء والتي تتلقى الدعم من MCM ، مدينة ديترويت ، شركة ديترويت للنمو الاقتصادي (DEGC)

ديترويت (1 أبريل 2021) - احتفل مطعم Baobab Fare ، أول مطعم شرق أفريقي في ديترويت ، بافتتاحه الكبير اليوم بحفل قص الشريط. انضم إلى المالكين ناديا نيجيمبير وهاميسي مامبا عمدة ديترويت مايك دوغان والعديد من قادة المجتمع والعمل الخيري الآخرين.

يقع Baobab Fare في 6568 Woodward Avenue في حي New Center في ديترويت ، وهو حائز على جائزة MCM Round 12 النقدية بقيمة 50,000،XNUMX دولار. يقدم المطعم أيضًا سوقًا وبارًا للعصير يقدم مجموعة من عناصر القائمة المعدة والبقالة ومنتجات البيع بالتجزئة الأخرى من شرق إفريقيا.

قال مامبا: "نحن فخورون بفتح أبوابنا وجلب مطبخ وثقافة شرق إفريقيا لمجتمعنا". ”أجرة باوباب هي أكثر من مجرد مطعم ؛ إنه مكان تجمع حيث يتم الترحيب بالجميع واحتضانهم. ديترويت هي موطننا الجديد ".

تمتلك شركة Baobab Fare وتديرها Nadia Nijimbere و Hamissi Mamba ، زوجة وزوج فريق ، هربا من بوروندي إلى ميشيغان في عام 2014 لبدء حياة جديدة. أثناء عيشهما في بيت الحرية في ديترويت ، وهو منزل مؤقت للناجين المعوزين من الاضطهاد الذين يسعون للحصول على اللجوء من جميع أنحاء العالم ، توصل الزوجان إلى فكرة فتح مطعم وبار للعصير وسوق في شرق إفريقيا من شأنه أيضًا أن يكون مكانًا آمنًا للآخرين. المهاجرين وديترويت على حد سواء.

بعض موظفي Baobab Fare هم أصدقاء التقوا في Freedom House. كانت Baobab Fare نشطة في المجتمع الذي أدى إلى الافتتاح من خلال توفير وجبات الطعام للعاملين في الخطوط الأمامية أثناء الوباء.

قال العمدة مايك دوغان: "يسعدني أن أرحب بأول مطعم شرق أفريقي في ديترويت ، باوباب فير في نيو سنتر". "رحلة مامبا وناديا من بوروندي إلى ديترويت ملهمة حقًا وتسلط الضوء على الفرصة العظيمة والدعم المتاح لأصحاب المشاريع في ديترويت من جميع الخلفيات من خلال برنامج Motor City Match."

Baobab Fare هي واحدة من 116 شركة MCM مفتوحة تلقت دعمًا من البرنامج. من بين هذه الشركات ، 81 في المائة مملوكة للأقليات ، و 71 في المائة مملوكة للنساء و 64 في المائة مملوكة لسكان ديترويت. يستمر البرنامج في إحداث تأثير كبير وإيجابي على مجتمع الأعمال الصغيرة في ديترويت ، بما في ذلك:

  • من المتوقع افتتاح 22 شركة أخرى من شركات مليون متر مكعب في عام 2021
  • تم إنشاء أكثر من 1,000 فرصة عمل نتيجة لأعمال MCM المفتوحة
  • تم منح 9.5 مليون دولار في شكل منح نقدية من خلال MCM و Motor City Re-Store ، والتي جمعت 44.1 مليون دولار في استثمارات إضافية في أحياء ديترويت
  • تم إطلاق أكثر من 300 شركة إضافية مفتوحة وتعمل كمنزل ، ومتحرك وتجارة إلكترونية بمساعدة MCM

قال كيفن جونسون ، الرئيس والمدير التنفيذي لشركة "موتور سيتي ماتش": "كان لموتور سيتي ماتش تأثير هائل على ديترويت". "المزيد من سكان ديترويت في طريقهم إلى الحراك الاقتصادي ، وقد مُنحوا فرصة لمتابعة شغفهم ، والحصول على السلع والخدمات في أحيائهم. للمضي قدمًا ، سنستخدم ما تم تعلمه لإنشاء دعم أقوى لمجتمع الأعمال الصغيرة في ديترويت - قلب مدينتنا ".

تلقت Baobab Fare أيضًا منحًا ومساعدات أخرى من شركة Hatch Detroit Midtown Detroit، Inc. و ProsperUs. يفتح مطعم Baobab Fare على مدار 7 أيام في الأسبوع ، ويقدم مجموعة متنوعة من أطباق شرق إفريقيا والقهوة البوروندية وعصير الفاكهة والصلصة الحارة. لمزيد من المعلومات ، يرجى زيارة baobabfare.com.

حول موتور سيتي ماتش
موتور سيتي ماتش هي شراكة فريدة بين مدينة ديترويت ومؤسسة النمو الاقتصادي في ديترويت (DEGC) ومؤسسة التنمية الاقتصادية لمدينة ديترويت (EDC) ووزارة الإسكان والتنمية الحضرية الأمريكية (HUD). يتم دعم المساعدة المالية التنافسية من خلال شراكة واسعة من المؤسسات المالية والشركات الإنمائية المجتمعية في جنوب شرق ميشيغان. شركة ديترويت للنمو الاقتصادي هي منظمة غير ربحية تعمل كوكالة تنفيذية رائدة للاحتفاظ بالأعمال التجارية والجذب ومبادرات التنمية الاقتصادية في ديترويت.

# # #

العناوين الأخيرة

Newsroom

Search News: 

Search
Generic filters

Detroit’s first East African restaurant celebrates grand opening in New Center, receives $50,000 from Motor City Match

Apr 1, 2021

    • Baobab Fare now open for in-person dining and carryout
    • Motor City Match (MCM) Round 12 cash grant awardee of $50,000
    • East African restaurant, market and juice bar among several Black- and female-owned businesses receiving support from MCM, City of Detroit, Detroit Economic Growth Corporation (DEGC)

DETROIT (April 1, 2021) – Baobab Fare, Detroit’s first East African restaurant, celebrated its grand opening today with a ribbon cutting ceremony. Owners Nadia Nijimbere and Hamissi Mamba were joined by Detroit Mayor Mike Duggan and various other community and philanthropic leaders.

Located at 6568 Woodward Avenue in Detroit’s New Center neighborhood, Baobab Fare is a MCM Round 12 cash awardee of $50,000. The restaurant also serves as a market and juice bar that offers an array of prepared menu items, groceries and other retail products from East Africa.

“We are proud to open our doors and bring East African cuisine and culture to our community,” said Mamba. “Baobab Fare is more than a restaurant; it is a gathering place where all are welcomed and embraced. Detroit is our new home.”

Baobab Fare is owned and operated by Nadia Nijimbere and Hamissi Mamba, a wife and husband team, who fled Burundi for Michigan in 2014 to start a new life. While living in Detroit’s Freedom House, a temporary home for indigent survivors of persecution seeking asylum from around the world, the couple came up with the idea to open a restaurant, juice bar and East African market that would also serve as a safe space for other immigrants and Detroiters alike.

Some of Baobab Fare’s employees are friends met at Freedom House. Baobab Fare has been active in the community leading up to the opening by providing meals to frontline workers during the pandemic.

“I am thrilled to welcome Detroit’s first East African restaurant, Baobab Fare to New Center,” said Mayor Mike Duggan. “Mamba and Nadia’s journey from Burundi to Detroit is truly inspiring and highlights the great opportunity and support available to Detroit entrepreneurs of all backgrounds through the Motor City Match program.”

Baobab Fare is one of 116 open MCM businesses that have received support from the program. Of those businesses, 81 percent are minority-owned, 71 percent are women-owned and 64 percent are owned by Detroit residents. The program continues to have a large and positive impact on Detroit’s small business community, including:

  • 22 more MCM businesses are expected to open in 2021
  • More than 1,000 jobs have been created as a result of open MCM businesses
  • $9.5 million has been awarded in cash grants through MCM and Motor City Re-Store, which has leveraged $44.1M in additional investment into Detroit’s neighborhoods
  • Over 300 additional businesses that are open and operating as home-based, mobile and ecommerce businesses have been launched with the help of MCM

“Motor City Match has had a tremendous impact on Detroit,” said DEGC President and CEO Kevin Johnson. “More Detroiters are on a path to economic mobility, have been given a chance to pursue their passions, and have access to goods and services in their neighborhoods. Moving forward we will use what has been learned to create even stronger support for Detroit’s small business community – the heartbeat of our City.”

Baobab Fare has also received grants and other assistance from Hatch Detroit Midtown Detroit, Inc. and ProsperUs. Open 7 days a week, Baobab Fare’s menu offers a variety of East African dishes, Burundi coffee, fruit juice and hot sauce. For more information, please visit baobabfare.com.

About Motor City Match
Motor City Match is a unique partnership between the City of Detroit, the Detroit Economic Growth Corporation (DEGC), the Economic Development Corporation of the City of Detroit (EDC) and the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD). Competitive financial assistance is supported by a broad partnership of Southeast Michigan community development financial institutions and corporations. Detroit Economic Growth Corporation is a non-profit organization that serves as the lead implementing agency for business retention, attraction and economic development initiatives in Detroit.

###

Recent Headlines