غرفة الأخبار

البحث عن الأخبار: 

ابحث
مرشحات عامة

كيف سيبدو اقتصاد ما بعد الجائحة في ديترويت؟

يوليو 15، 2021

مع تطعيم المزيد من سكان ديترويت واستمرار معدل الإصابة بـ COVID-19 في الانخفاض ، تنتقل مدينتنا إلى اقتصاد ما بعد الجائحة.

ما يعنيه ذلك في الواقع هو سؤال يدور في أذهان الجميع.

هناك من يعتقدون أننا لن نتعافى حقًا من الغضب المدمر للوباء العالمي. العديد من الوظائف والشركات التي فقدت لن تعود. قد تعاني قطاعات اقتصادنا بأكملها التي تضررت بشدة إلى أجل غير مسمى.

يقارن آخرون هذه الفترة في التاريخ بطفرة ما بعد الحرب عام 1945. الطلب المكبوت على السلع والخدمات سيؤدي إلى جنون الإنفاق وسيمكن الشركات من تحقيق نجاح جديد. لقد رأينا العديد من المطاعم المجاورة وتجار التجزئة يفتحون منذ مارس 2020 ، على أمل الاستفادة من تفاؤل المستهلك والقوة الشرائية الجامحة. الاقتصاديون في جولدمان ساكس توقع أن ينمو الاقتصاد بنسبة 6.8 في المائة هذا العام مع انخفاض البطالة إلى 4.1 في المائة.

في الواقع ، يمكن أن تؤدي التغييرات التي أجرتها العديد من الشركات لزيادة الكفاءة وخفض التكاليف أثناء الوباء إلى تسريع نمو الأعمال والربحية. هذا صحيح بالنسبة للشركات من جميع الأحجام وفي جميع الصناعات.

لمساعدة مجتمع الأعمال الصغيرة في ديترويت أثناء الوباء ، قام DEGC وتحالف يضم حوالي 60 شريكًا من القطاعين الخاص والعام بتشكيل شركة Detroit Means Business (DMB). في حين كان الهدف الأصلي من DMB هو مساعدة الشركات الصغيرة على مواجهة عاصفة COVID-19 ، فإن المنظمة تعمل الآن على توسيع نطاق تركيزها. يعمل DMB على جعل ديترويت مركزًا لنجاح الأعمال الصغيرة. وهذا يشمل مساعدة أصحاب الأعمال في الوصول إلى رأس المال ، ومعالجة القضايا التشريعية التي تمنع نمو الأعمال ، وتوفير التدريب على المهارات والاتصال بالتجارة الإلكترونية ، ودفع التنوع والشمول ، والمزيد.

لم يخيف الاقتصاد غير المؤكد جميع المستثمرين. من بين أكثر من 50 مشروعًا تم الإعلان عنها في ديترويت في عامي 2019 و 2020 ، تم تعليق عدد قليل فقط نتيجة للأزمة. معظم المشاريع تمضي قدمًا ، أو قيد الإنشاء أو على وشك الانتهاء ، ويبلغ إجمالي الاستثمار في المدينة أكثر من 6.3 مليار دولار. في الواقع ، تم الإعلان عن 12 مشروعًا تنمويًا جديدًا منذ مارس 2020 ، بإضافة 170 مليون دولار أخرى في الاستثمارات.

نظرًا لأن DEGC تعمل مع مدينة ديترويت والمنطقة المحيطة بها ، فإننا نوفر للشركات مسارًا للتعافي بعد الوباء. ويشمل ذلك استئناف جهود جذب الأعمال التي كانت تكتسب زخمًا قبل الأزمة الصحية. في وقت سابق من هذا الأسبوع ، استضافت شراكة ديترويت الإقليمية و DEGC منتقي المواقع من مجموعة متنوعة من المناطق في ديترويت الأمريكية ، تم عرض السمات الإيجابية لديترويت ، بما في ذلك مجموعة المواهب المتنوعة لدينا ، والبيئة الصديقة للأعمال ، والتنقل المتنامي ، والتكنولوجيا ، وقطاعات الملابس والخدمات المالية ، و استراتيجية تجميع الأراضي الصناعية في المدينة.

يوضح عملنا لتحويل مصنع ختم كاديلاك السابق إلى منشأة صناعية جديدة وتوفير 450 وظيفة التزام شركة DEGC بإعادة توظيف الأراضي المهجورة وتحويلها إلى استخدام منتج يمكن أن يكتسب اعتبارًا تجاريًا جديدًا لديترويت.

المحرك الآخر لتعافي ديترويت هو قانون خطة الإنقاذ الأمريكية (ARPA). تحت قيادة العمدة مايك دوجان وإدارته ، يعمل DEGC مع المدينة لاستخدام تمويل ARPA المخصص لديترويت لمكافحة الفقر ودعم الشركات الصغيرة والاستثمار في الأحياء وإعداد المدينة لاستثمارات جديدة. يمثل هذا التمويل لحظة تحول في تاريخ ديترويت لمعالجة الحواجز الأساسية أمام الفرص الاقتصادية وضمان المشاركة الشاملة في نجاح ديترويت المستقبلي.

بفضل العديد من الأصول المميزة لمدينتنا ، نتوقع أن يستعيد اقتصاد ديترويت - الذي كان يسير في مسار إيجابي للغاية في الوقت الذي ضرب فيه كوفيد -19 - زخمه بسرعة. سيتم تسريع هذا من خلال معدل التطعيم ، والشراكات العامة والخاصة ، والتأهب لسلسلة التوريد والاستثمارات طويلة الأجل في تحسينات البنية التحتية التي تشتد الحاجة إليها.

ومع ذلك ، لا يوجد عامل أكثر حيوية لتعافي ديترويت من الإنفاق الاستهلاكي. يرجى النظر في رعاية الأعمال التجارية في ديترويت والصناعات الرئيسية التي يدعمها عمالنا. عندما ندعم التجارة المحلية في ديترويت ، فإننا نخلق فرص عمل ، ونرفع الأجور ، ونعزز النمو الشامل لمدينتنا.

العناوين الأخيرة

Newsroom

Search News: 

Search
Generic filters

What will a post-pandemic economy look like for Detroit?

Jul 15, 2021

As more Detroiters are becoming vaccinated and the COVID-19 infection rate continues to fall, our city is transitioning to a post-pandemic economy.

What that actually means is a question on everyone’s mind.

There are those who believe we will never truly recover from the devastating wrath of the global pandemic. Many jobs and businesses that were lost will not return. Entire sectors of our economy that were hit the hardest may suffer indefinitely.

Others compare this period in history to the post-war boom of 1945. Pent-up demand for goods and services will drive a spending frenzy and enable businesses to find new success. We’ve seen several neighborhood restaurants and retailers open since March 2020, hoping to cash in on consumer optimism and unbridled buying power. Economists at Goldman Sachs predict that the economy will grow approximately 6.8 percent this year with unemployment dropping to 4.1 percent.

In fact, changes made by many businesses to increase efficiencies and cut costs during the pandemic can actually accelerate business growth and profitability. This is true for businesses of all sizes and in all industries.

To help Detroit’s small business community during the pandemic, DEGC and a coalition of some 60 private and public partners formed Detroit Means Business (DMB). While the original intent of DMB was to help small businesses weather the COVID-19 storm, the organization is now broadening its focus. DMB is working to make Detroit a hub for small business success. This includes helping business owners with access to capital, addressing legislative issues that prevent business growth, providing skills training and e-commerce connectivity, driving diversity and inclusion, and more.

The uncertain economy hasn’t frightened off all investors. Of the more than 50 projects announced for Detroit in 2019 and 2020, only a handful have been placed on hold as a result of the crisis. Most projects are moving forward, are under construction or near completion, totaling more than $6.3 billion of investment in the City. In fact, 12 new development projects were announced since March 2020, adding another $170 million in investment.

As DEGC works with the City of Detroit and the surrounding region, we are providing businesses with a pathway to post-pandemic recovery. This includes resuming the business attraction efforts that were gaining momentum prior to the health crisis. Earlier this week, the Detroit Regional Partnership and DEGC hosted site selectors from a variety of regions in the U.S. Detroit’s positive attributes were showcased, including our diverse talent pool, business-friendly environment, growing mobility, tech, apparel and financial services sectors, and the City’s industrial land assembly strategy.

Our work to transform the former Cadillac Stamping plant into a new industrial facility and provide 450 jobs demonstrates DEGC’s commitment to repurpose vacant blighted land and turn it into productive use that can gain new business consideration for Detroit.

Another driver of Detroit’s recovery is the American Rescue Plan Act (ARPA). Under Mayor Mike Duggan and his administration, DEGC is working with the City to use the ARPA funding allocated to Detroit to fight poverty, support small businesses, invest in neighborhoods and prepare the City for new investment. This funding represents a transformational moment in Detroit’s history to address fundamental barriers to economic opportunity and ensure inclusive participation in Detroit’s future success.

Thanks to the many iconic assets of our city, we expect Detroit’s economy – which was on a very positive trajectory at the time COVID-19 hit – to quickly regain momentum. This will be accelerated by our vaccination rate, public and private partnerships, supply chain preparedness and long-term investments in much needed infrastructure improvements.

However, no factor is more vital to Detroit’s rebound than consumer spending. Please consider patronizing Detroit businesses and the major industries supported by our workers. When we support Detroit’s local commerce, we create jobs, drive up wages, and foster inclusive growth for our city.

Recent Headlines