غرفة الأخبار

البحث عن الأخبار: 

بحث
مرشحات عامة

احتفلت Joyola Mei ، الفائزة بمسابقة Motor City Match ، بالافتتاح الكبير ، وتقدم العناية بالشعر الصديقة للبيئة إلى Corktown في ديترويت

11 مايو 2022

  • تقدم Joyola Mei تجربة جديدة وشاملة وصديقة للبيئة للأفراد الذين يسعون إلى تعزيز شعرهم الطبيعي المتموج والمجعد والمتعرج
  • الصالون الصديق للبيئة هو واحد من 135 شركة في موتور سيتي ماتش يفتح أبوابه
  • حصل المؤسس Joyell Lewis على منحة نقدية قدرها 25,000 دولار خلال الجولة 18 من Motor City Match
  • يقع الصالون في حي Corktown في ديترويت ، ويبيع منتجات العناية بالشعر العضوية والطبيعية

 11 مايو 2022 (ديترويت) - انضم مسؤولو المدينة ، بما في ذلك العمدة مايك دوغان ، إلى أعضاء المجتمع وجويل لويس ، مالك Joyola Mei ، للاحتفال بالافتتاح الكبير لأحدث الحائز على جائزة Motor City Match (MCM) - وهو صالون صديق للبيئة ومدفوع بالضفيرة للأشخاص ذوي التموجات ، نسيج مجعد ومتعرج وضيق. يقع Joyola Mei في 1432 Michigan Ave. في حي Corktown في ديترويت.

حصلت Joyola Mei ، الحائزة على جائزة الجولة 18 مليون متر مكعب ، على منحة نقدية قدرها 25,000 دولار. الصالون هو واحد من العديد من الشركات المملوكة للسيدات والتي افتتحت في ديترويت في عام 2022. بعد أن بدأت حياتها المهنية في الحكومة التشريعية ، اختارت لويس تصفيف الشعر باعتباره "صخبًا جانبيًا". وهي أخصائية تجميل مرخصة منذ عام 2011 وبدأت العمل خلف الكرسي في أكتوبر 2018.

قال لويس: "آمل في نشر الوعي بالجمال النظيف والصديق للبيئة". "لقد أنشأنا مساحة آمنة وعاطفية للأشخاص من جميع قوام الشعر مع تعليم الاستدامة والجمال النظيف في الصناعة. لم يتعرف الكثير من الناس على فكرة أن المنتجات يجب أن تكون طبيعية ونظيفة ، والعديد من الصالونات لا تشمل أنواع الشعر المختلفة. على الرغم من أننا لسنا محددين بالضفيرة ، إلا أننا نتبعها. بفضل Motor City Match ، نحن قادرون على تثقيف الآخرين وتوفير مساحة شاملة وآمنة. "

تقدم Joyola Mei ، التي تقدم المواعيد والحجز عبر الإنترنت ، قصات الشعر وخدمات الألوان والإضافات والتصميم ، وتبيع منتجات تصفيف الشعر العضوية. ساعات عمل Joyola Mei من الأربعاء إلى السبت ، من الساعة 10 صباحًا حتى 6 مساءً

قال العمدة دوغان: "قبل ثلاثة أشهر فقط حصلت Joyell على منحة Motor City Match Grant واليوم نحتفل بافتتاحها الكبير". "لقد فعلنا هذا 135 مرة الآن ومع وجود الكثير من المواهب في مدينتنا ، سنقوم بتوسيع البرنامج حتى يتمكن المزيد من رواد الأعمال من تحقيق حلمهم بفتح شركة في ديترويت."

Joyola Mei هي واحدة من 135 شركة مفتوحة من الطوب وقذائف الهاون تلقت الدعم من Motor City Match. أكثر من 90 بالمائة من جميع شركات MCM مملوكة للأقليات ، و 80 بالمائة مملوكة للنساء و 85 بالمائة مملوكة لسكان ديترويت. يستمر البرنامج في إحداث تأثير إيجابي كبير على مجتمع الأعمال الصغيرة في ديترويت ، بما في ذلك:

  • تم إنشاء أكثر من 1,000 فرصة عمل نتيجة لأعمال MCM المفتوحة
  • تم منح 9.1 مليون دولار أمريكي في شكل منح نقدية من خلال MCM
  • تم بدء أو توسيع ما يقرب من 300 شركة إضافية من الأعمال المنزلية والمتنقلة بمساعدة Motor City Match
  • من المتوقع افتتاح أكثر من اثني عشر مشروعًا إضافيًا للطوب وقذائف الهاون مليون متر مكعب في عام 2022.

قال كيفن جونسون ، الرئيس والمدير التنفيذي لشركة ديترويت للنمو الاقتصادي: "مع توفير ما يقرب من نصف الوظائف في ديترويت من قبل الشركات الصغيرة ، يرتبط نجاح مدينتنا ارتباطًا وثيقًا بنجاح مجتمع الأعمال الصغيرة بها". "Joyell Lewis هي مثال ساطع على المثابرة والثبات الذي يظهره أصحاب الأعمال المحليون باستمرار."

تعرف على المزيد حول Joyola Mei على موقع joyolamei.com.

حول موتور سيتي ماتش

موتور سيتي ماتش هي شراكة فريدة بين مدينة ديترويت ومؤسسة النمو الاقتصادي في ديترويت (DEGC) ومؤسسة التنمية الاقتصادية لمدينة ديترويت (EDC) ووزارة الإسكان والتنمية الحضرية الأمريكية (HUD). يتم دعم المساعدة المالية التنافسية من خلال شراكة واسعة من المؤسسات المالية للتنمية المجتمعية في جنوب شرق ميشيغان والشركات ، بما في ذلك Bank of America ، و Fifth Third Bank ، و Ford Foundation ، و Fred A. and Barbara M. Erb Foundation ، و Hudson Webber Foundation ، و JPMorgan Chase & Co. ومؤسسة Knight ومؤسسة Kresge ومبادرة الاقتصاد الجديد ومؤسسة WK Kellogg. تطبيقات Motor City Match متاحة كل ثلاثة أشهر. مزيد من المعلومات متوفرة في www.MotorCityMatch.com

# # #

شعار MCM

العناوين الأخيرة

Newsroom

Search News: 

Search
Generic filters

Motor City Match winner Joyola Mei celebrates grand opening, brings eco-friendly hair care to Detroit’s Corktown

May 11, 2022

  • Joyola Mei provides novel, wholistic and eco-conscious experience for individuals seeking to enhance their natural wavy, curly, and coily hair
  • Eco-friendly salon is one of 135 Motor City Match businesses to open its doors
  • Founder Joyell Lewis received $25,000 cash grant during round 18 of Motor City Match
  • Located in Detroit’s Corktown neighborhood, the salon sells organic and natural hair care products

 May 11, 2022 (DETROIT) – City officials, including Mayor Mike Duggan, joined community members and Joyell Lewis, owner of Joyola Mei, to celebrate the grand opening of the latest Motor City Match (MCM) awardee – an eco-conscious and curl-driven salon for people with wavy, curly, coily and tight textures. Joyola Mei is located at 1432 Michigan Ave. in Detroit’s Corktown neighborhood.

A Round 18 MCM awardee, Joyola Mei received a cash grant of $25,000. The salon is one of several Black, woman-owned businesses opening in Detroit in 2022. After starting her career in legislative government, Lewis chose hairstyling as a “side hustle.” She has been a licensed cosmetologist since 2011 and started working behind the chair in October 2018.

“I am hoping to bring awareness to eco-conscious and clean beauty,” said Lewis. “We’ve created an empathetic, safe space for people of all hair textures while teaching sustainability and clean beauty in the industry. A lot of people have never been introduced to the idea that products should be natural and clean, and many salons aren’t inclusive of various hair types. Even though we are not curl specific, we are curl-driven. Thanks to Motor City Match, we’re able to educate others and provide an inclusive, safe space. ”

Joyola Mei, which offers walk-in appointments and online booking, provides haircuts, color services, extensions and styling, and sells organic styling products. Joyola Mei’s hours are Wednesday through Saturday, 10 a.m. – 6 p.m.

“It was just three months ago that Joyell was awarded her Motor City Match Grant and today we are celebrating her grand opening,” said Mayor Duggan.  “We’ve done this 135 times now and with so much talent in our city, we’re going to expand the program so more entrepreneurs can realize their dream of opening a business in Detroit.”

Joyola Mei is one of 135 open brick-and-mortar businesses that have received support from Motor City Match. More than 90 percent of all MCM businesses are minority-owned, 80 percent are women-owned and 85 percent are owned by Detroit residents. The program continues to have a significant positive impact on Detroit’s small business community, including:

  • Over 1,000 jobs have been created as a result of open MCM businesses
  • $9.1M has been awarded in cash grants through MCM
  • Nearly 300 additional home-based and mobile businesses have started or expanded with the help of Motor City Match
  • More than a dozen additional MCM brick and mortar businesses are expected to open in 2022.

“With nearly half of jobs in Detroit provided by small businesses, the success of our city is inextricably linked to the success of its small business community,” said Kevin Johnson, President & CEO, Detroit Economic Growth Corporation. “Joyell Lewis is a shining example of the tenacity and fortitude our local business owners consistently display.”

Learn more about Joyola Mei at joyolamei.com.

About Motor City Match

Motor City Match is a unique partnership between the City of Detroit, the Detroit Economic Growth Corporation (DEGC), the Economic Development Corporation of the City of Detroit (EDC) and the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD). Competitive financial assistance is supported by a broad partnership of Southeast Michigan community development financial institutions and corporations including, Bank of America, Fifth Third Bank, Ford Foundation, Fred A. and Barbara M. Erb Foundation, Hudson Webber Foundation, JPMorgan Chase & Co., Knight Foundation, The Kresge Foundation, New Economy Initiative, and the W.K. Kellogg Foundation. Motor City Match applications are available quarterly. More information is available at www.MotorCityMatch.com

###

MCM Logo

Recent Headlines